Gov. Reynolds announces appointments to medical cannabidiol board

Around the Area

DES MOINES – Gov. Kim Reynolds announced eight appointments Wednesday to the nine member medical cannabidiol board.

The following appointments are effective Friday, Sept. 1, 2017, are unpaid and are not subject to Senate confirmation:

Medical Cannabidiol Board

Pediatrician: Dr. Ken Cheyne, Clive

Psychiatrist: Dr. Jill Liesveld, Coralville

Law Enforcement: Mike McKelvey, Mason City

Family Medicine: Dr. Lonny Miller, Creston

Pharmacist: Dr. Stephen Richards, Spirit Lake

Oncologist: Dr. Robert Shreck, Des Moines

Pain Management: Dr. Jacqueline Stoken, Waukee

Neurologist: Dr. Wendy Zadeh, Ankeny

House File 524 (Medical Cannabidiol Act) requires the board to consist of eight medical practitioners representing specific specialty fields and one law enforcement representative.

The governor’s office boards and commissions are still seeking one practitioner representing gastroenterology. The practitioner must be licensed in Iowa, nationally board-certified in gastroenterology and knowledgeable about the use of medical cannabidiol.

To apply for the vacancy, please click here.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: