Fort Madison spikers put three on 1st team All-Conference


FORT MADISON – The Fort Madison Bloodhounds put three volleyball players on the first-team all conference selection released last week.

The Hounds finished atop the Southeast Conference making it to substate for the second year in a row, where top-ranked Cedar Rapids Xavier eliminated them, also for the second year in a row.

Senior Amber Dilsaver was named to the first team and led the conference in kills with 342 and kills per set at 4.07. Fellow senior Leigh Johnson was also tapped for the team. Johnson led all players in the conference in assists with 791, far and away above anyone else with Mt. Pleasant’s Ashlee Menke second with 400. Junior Josie Pumphrey made the team as well. Pumphrey played libero for most of the year for FMHS. She was second in digs behind Fairfield’s Danae Drish.

Senior Kamryn Bailey was named to the second team along with Kaeli Hutson. Bailey was fourth in the loop in digs with 292 on the year. She was tops in the conference in successful serves with 356 and 71 aces, 10 ahead of the pack. Hutson was fifth in the conference in attacking with 164 kills on 521 attacks.

Seniors Shyla Farmer, McKenna Fehseke, and Courtney Woodley were named honorable mention.

The Hounds also led the conference for the highest number of players qualifying for academic all-conference with 11. Bailey, Fehseke, Vanessa Golowach, Hutson, Johnson, Braxtyn McGhghy, Pumphrey, Olivia Williamn, Alyse Schmidt, and Woodley and Lilli Scott. Mt. Pleasant and Fairfield also put 10 players each on the academic squad.

Fairfield’s Kara Jeffrey was named Southeast Conference player of the year.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: