Commission to interview for judge’s seat


OTTUMWA – The District 8B Judicial Nominating Commission, comprised of five lawyers and five non-lawyer citizens and the senior Judge in the District, will be interviewing candidates to replace Judge John Linn, who retired in December.

Commission members who will be conducting the interviews include Judge MaryAnn Brown – Chairperson; Alta Cook of Wapello; Daniel Culp of Ft. Madison; Larry Kruse of Donnellson; Sara Titus of Mt. Pleasant; Daniel Wiedemeier of Burlington. The commission also lincludes attorneys Stephanie Kozlowski of Burlington; Nicholas Pothitakis of Burlington; Scott Schroeder of Burlington; Steven Sents of Columbus Junction and Reyna Wilkens of Ft. Madison.

The Judicial Nominating Commission has established procedures for filling the position of District Court Judge in Judicial District 8B and the Supreme Court of Iowa has adopted an application to be completed by each person who wishes to apply for nomination to be a District Court Judge. Copies of the application can be obtained from the District Court Administrator’s Office for the Eighth Judicial District, 333 North Court Street, Ottumwa, IA 52501, by emailing, or by calling 1-641-684-6502, ext 110.

All applications must be received by the Court Administrator’s office no later than 12:00 p.m. May 25, 2018. No late applications will be accepted. The names of the applicants will be made available to the public after the deadline for filing applications.

Applicants must be members of the Bar of Iowa, a resident of the sub-district of the court to which they are nominated, and shall be of such age that they will be able to serve an initial and one regular term of office before reaching the age of seventy-two (72) years.

All applications will be considered; however, if there are more applicants than can be effectively interviewed, the commission may elect to screen the applicants and interview fewer than all. The selected applicants will be given an opportunity to appear before the entire Judicial Nominating Commission for a personal interview. The applicants’ submissions and materials shall be open to the public. Applicant interviews shall also be open. The public will be allowed to observe and listen but not interact. It is expected interviews will be conducted May 30 and 31, 2018.

The Commission will submit the names of two nominees to Governor Reynolds who will then appoint one to fill the vacancy.

Sub-District 8B includes Des Moines, Henry, Lee, and Louisa Counties.

About Chuck Vandenberg 3814 Articles
Pen City Current and are products of Market Street Publishing, LLC, a multi-platform media company delivering hyper-local news, sports and advertising information to Fort Madison, IA and surrounding communities.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply