Cordray, Dennis lead FMHS at Fairfield Invite


FAIRFIELD – Dayne Cordray took 5th place to lead the Fort Madison Bloodhounds at the Fairfield Cross Country Invitational Thursday evening at the Waterworks Park.

Cordray’s 17:32 led the Hounds in the boys Class 2A event. Mt. Pleasant’s Cody Mertens won the run at 16:19. Fort Madison came in fourth place with 97 points. Fairfield won with 56 points.

Katelyn Dennis captured eighth place in the girls Class 2A run. Her 21:23 paced the LadyHounds who took 7th place overall with 141 points.

Mt. Pleasant won the event behind the Abby Ryon’s 2nd place finish, just one second off the pace of Fairfield’s Ashley Bloomquist at 19:20.

Anna Kester was the next Bloodhound in on the 5K run with a time of 23:14. Ashlynn Haas rounded out the top 25 for Fort Madison with a 23:25 time.

Maddy McVey finished at 24:09 and Claire Hellman completed the run in 26:40.

For the boys, Anthony Barnes finished in 19th with a 18:53 mark, followed closely by Will Gager at 19:00 good for 22nd place and Hayden Wolfe’s 19:07 earned him 24th place overall.

Austin Miller was just outside the top 25 with his time of 19:20. Miguel Trejo ran a 19:27 and Owen Kruse finished at 20:03.

In the junior varsity boys run, Alex Steffensmeier led the Hounds with a 20:56 mark. Matt Hopper ran a 26:05.

In the junior varsity run, Emily Steffensmeier led the finished in 4th place on the shorter run with a time of 10:40. Kay Quittern was sixth at 10:52 and Ellie Schulte was 11th with a time of 11:06.

Tauren Settles, Madison Huebner, Paetyn Wiegand, Lauren Otte, Jardyn Burch, Jordyn Boyer, and Lila Miller all finished in the top 50 for FMMS girls.

In the boys middle school run, Emmett Kruse took fourth place with a 9:44 run and Tate Settles took 10th place at 9:49. Carson Rashid finished in the top 25, and Ben Thele, Leif Boeding, Nathaniel Swigart, Nathan Bowen, John Contrell, Cameron Shutwell and Oliver Santiago all finished for Fort Madison Middle School.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: