Lady Hounds tie Fairfield for 2nd at MP


MT. PLEASANT – Fort Madison freshman Katie Dennis is quickly establishing herself as one of fastest girls cross country runner in the area.

Dennis took 3rd place in the large class run at the Tuesday’s cross country meet  at Mt. Pleasant High School. She took 4th at last week’s Timm Lamb meet at Fort Madison Middle School.

Dennis’s time of 21:44.21 was :48 behind Fairfield senior  Ashley Bloomquist and 2:20 behind Mt. Pleasant’s Abby Ryon, who’s been one of the state’s fastest runner for the past three years.

The Bloodhounds finished in tied in points with Fairfield at 61 for second place, but Fairfield had a quicker average time and a higher individual finish.  Mt. Pleasant won the match with 29 points.

Anna Kester finished in 9th with a time of 23:24.84 for the second best time for FMHS. Ashlynn Haas earned 12th with a 23:47.96 and Maddie McVey’s 24:18.65 was good for 15th. Claire Hellman finished 23rd with a time of 27:08.18.

In the large class junior varsity boys’ run, Fort Madison’s Alex Steffensmeier took first place with a run of 20:53.93.  Matt Hopper at 22nd with a time of 25:09.15 and the only other jayvee runner for the Hounds.

In the girls 3200 middle school run Emily Steffensmeier took third with a 14:00.81.  Ellie Schulte took 6th with a mark of 14:02.38 and then four Hounds, Tauren Settles (14:35.28), Kay Quittem (14:37.52) Madison Huebner (14:40.24) and Paetyn Wiegand (14:47.56) earned 11th-14th.

Jordyn Burch finished in 17th with 15:24.43, Jordyn Boyer was 19th at 15:31.34 and Lauren Otte finished in 20th with a time of 15:33.. Marquel Warner finished at 16:05,  Bree Walston had a time of 17:46.94 and Alma Oronia had a time of 21:40.28.

In the boys middle school 3200 run, Tate Settles had the highest finish at 12:21.02 in eighth place followed by Carson Rashid at 10th at 12:23.21. Emmett Kruse was close behind in 13th with a time of 12:29.55.

Ben Thele scored 13:19.43 good enough for 20th and Leif Boeding with a time 13:23.37 finished at 21st. Nathan Bowen finished 26th with a time of 13;31.14 and Nathanial Swigart crossed the line at 13:43.78. Other finishers for FMMS included Cameron Shutwell 15:37 (69th), John Cottrell 15:46.62 (72nd) and Oliver Santiago 20:21.18 (104th)



About Chuck Vandenberg 5073 Articles
Pen City Current and are products of Market Street Publishing, LLC, a multi-platform media company delivering hyper-local news, sports and advertising information to Fort Madison, IA and surrounding communities.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply