Lozano, Frantz named 1st team all-district


FORT MADISON – All-district football honors were released this week and Bloodhounds Diego Lozano and Dom Frantz garnered 1st team Class 3A District 6  honors.

Lozano was second in the district in total tackles from his inside linebacker sport. The junior registered 71.5 tackles on the year, including 20 for loss and four sacks. His 20 tackles for loss was tops in the district and was fourth best in the state in Class 3A.

Frantz, a senior was eighth in the district in receiving yards with 362 and was seventh in the district in receiving touchdowns with three.

Keokuk’s Tristyn O’Connor was also named to the first team All-District squad for his work on the Chiefs’ defensive side of the ball.

FMHS seniors Nick Carter and Sheymouhr Redd-Donald, and juniors Parker Denning and Danen Settles were named 2nd-team All-District.  Carter and Redd-Donald were selected as defensive backs, Denning at wide receiver, and Settles for his work on the offensive and defensive lines.

Nine Bloodhounds were named to the All-Academic team which recognizes junior and senior football players with a minimum of a 3.25 GPA.

Juniors Jace Burgher, Denning, Shea Dinwiddie, Jayden Fedler, Dawson Hunt and Quinten Schneider made the list, as did seniors Frantz, Sam Hayes and AJ Nolting.

The district offensive MVP went to Mt. Pleasant’s Zach Beason, while defensive MVP was Adam Bock, who also got the special teams MVP nod. Fairfield’s Tristin Waugh was named the Outstanding Lineman.



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: