HTC debate team brings home honors

Seven students from HTC earned honors at this week's State Debate competition.

DES MOINES – The Holy Trinity Catholic Debate Team had great success at the State Debate Tournament on January 4th and 5th. Every student from HTC earned awards. Sam Pothitakis received the award for Top Senator in “C” chamber. Michael Hellman and Reagan Garrels earned medals of excellence and Sam Avery earned Excellent Senator, all three in “B” Chamber. Finally, Ryan Otte, Mason Holvoet and Wyatt Hellman earned a seat in the “A” Chamber which is televised and available on Mediacom on Demand for a year. Ryan received the Excellent Senator award while Wyatt and Mason received Superior Senator.

Seven students from Holy Trinity Catholic earned honors at the State Debate title held in Des Moines on Jan. 4-5. From left to right are: Michael Hellman, Mason Holvoet,Sam Avery, Wyatt Hellman, Ryan Otte, Reagan Garrels, and Samantha Pothitakis. Courtesy Photo

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: