Fort Madison sweeps three-way at Hound Dome


FORT MADISON – The Fort Madison Bloodhound wrestling team is still perfect at home this year after sweeping a three-team meet Thursday night.

The Hounds shut out Mt. Pleasant 81-0 with Mt. Pleasant not wrestling in eight weight classes. Owen Kruse got things going on the mat for Fort Madison scoring a pin :20 into the second period of the Panthers’ Carson Coleman at 120 lbs.

Will Larson also recorded a fall over Gannon McNamee at 138 lbs with five seconds left in the match. Nathan Steffensmeier recorded a pin at 160 over Chayse Irving at the 3:02 mark. At 220 lbs Diego Lozano got a pin over Samuel Carrasco at 1:14 and Emmett Kruse got the fast pin of the match against Abby Blint at 1:09.

Gage Roberts won at 126 with a 5-4 decision over Bowen Davis at 126 lbs.

Fort Madison a slightly tougher match against Mid-Prairie, but managed the win 58-24. The Hounds took advantage four forfeits and only two matches went the distance as all the rest were decided by fall.

Jakob McGowan, Mason Schau, Nathan Steffensmeier, Danen Settles and Owen Kruse all scored pins for Fort Madison in the win.

Fort Madison plays host to a 2-day 18-team invitational on Friday and Saturday at Fort Madison High School.

Complete results of the match are below

Fort Madison (FOMA) 81.0 Mount Pleasant (MOPL) 0.0 113: Matthew Steffensmeier (FOMA) over (MOPL) (For.) 120: Owen Kruse (FOMA) over Carson Coleman (MOPL) (Fall 2:20) 126: Gage Roberts (FOMA) over Bowen Davis (MOPL) (Dec 5-4) 132: Logan Kearns (FOMA) over (MOPL) (For.) 138: Will Larson (FOMA) over Gannon McNamee (MOPL) (Fall 5:55) 145: Jakob McGowan (FOMA) over (MOPL) (For.) 152: Mason Schau (FOMA) over (MOPL) (For.) 160: Nathan Steffensmeier (FOMA) over Chayse Irving (MOPL) (Fall 3:02) 170: Austin Ensminger (FOMA) over (MOPL) (For.) 182: Chance Hocker (FOMA) over (MOPL) (For.) 195: Levi Lowney (FOMA) over (MOPL) (For.) 220: Diego Lozano (FOMA) over Samuel Carrasco (MOPL) (Fall 1:14) 285: Danen Settles (FOMA) over (MOPL) (For.) 106: Emmett Kruse (FOMA) over Abby Blint (MOPL) (Fall 1:09)

Fort Madison (FOMA) 58.0 Mid-Prairie (MIPR) 24.0 126: Gage Roberts (FOMA) over (MIPR) (For.) 132: Logan Kearns (FOMA) over (MIPR) (For.) 138: Will Larson (FOMA) over (MIPR) (For.) 145: Jakob McGowan (FOMA) over Owen Trimpe (MIPR) (TF 15-0 4:00) 152: Mason Schau (FOMA) over Aiden West (MIPR) (Fall 2:32) 160: Nathan Steffensmeier (FOMA) over Mason Hartley (MIPR) (Fall 2:56) 170: Cael Garvey (MIPR) over Austin Ensminger (FOMA) (Fall 1:43) 182: Cory Allen (MIPR) over Chance Hocker (FOMA) (Fall 1:40) 195: Isaac Boucher (MIPR) over Levi Lowney (FOMA) (Fall 4:37) 220: Josh Wallington (MIPR) over Diego Lozano (FOMA) (Fall 4:14) 285: Danen Settles (FOMA) over Gannon Callahan (MIPR) (Fall 0:54) 106: Emmett Kruse (FOMA) over (MIPR) (For.) 113: Matthew Steffensmeier (FOMA) over Mose Yoder (MIPR) (TF 18-3 5:18) 120: Owen Kruse (FOMA) over Spencer Grout (MIPR) (Fall 0:52)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: