SEIRPC recognized by DOD ops committee

From left to right: Mike Norris, SEIRPC Executive Director; is pictured with Zach James, SEIRPC Assistant Director; Steven Stransky, SEIRPC Planner and Specialist in Iowa Army National Guard, Don T. Lane, Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve with an award from the ESGR. Courtesy photo.


WEST BURLINGTON – The Iowa Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve (ESGR), a Dept of Defense operational committee, announced today Southeast Iowa Regional Planning Commission (SEIRPC) was honored with a Patriot Award in recognition of extraordinary support of its employee serving as a reservist in the Iowa National Guard. 

According to Mark Hennessey, Iowa ESGR State Chair, “the Patriot Award was created by ESGR to publicly recognize individuals who provide outstanding patriotic support and cooperation to their employees, who like the citizen warriors before them, have answered their nation’s call to serve.

SEIRPC and Executive Director Mike Norris were nominated for being highly supportive of Iowa Army National Guard Specialist Steven Stransky, also a SEIRPC planner. Supportive supervisors are critical to maintaining the strength and readiness of the nation’s Guard and Reserve units.

SEIRPC is one of 17 councils of governments (COGs) in Iowa and recognized in Chapter 28H of Iowa Code. SEIRPC is a local government member-supported entity and serves Des Moines, Henry, Lee and Louisa counties and provides planning, grant writing, technical services and program management for the region.

SEIRPC is governed by a 19-member board of directors and also manages SEIBUS, Great River Housing Trust Fund, Mediapolis Housing Trust Fund, Southeast Iowa Housing, Inc., Southeast Iowa Regional and Economic Port Authority, Region 16 Regional Planning Affiliate, Southeast Iowa Economic Development District.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: