Pothitakis, McVey, and Hupp honored as Governor’s Scholars

LEE COUNTY – Three area seniors were honored as members of the 2020 Governor’s Scholar Program.

Fort Madison’s Maddie McVey, Holy Trinity Catholic’s Samantha Pothitakis and Central Lee’s Vanessa Hupp were all selected for the annual awards.

Due to the pandemic outbreak, the in-person ceremony was canceled and the announcements were done via social media and the Iowa High School Athletic Association website.

. The Governor’s Office, the Iowa High School Athletic Association, and its title sponsor, the Iowa Farm Bureau, are presenting this recognition which began in 2003.

The 424 seniors being honored were selected by their high schools as the highest academic achievers. All students will receive a recognition plaque and certificate to commemorate their achievement.  In addition, each student’s most influential teacher will also receive a certificate of appreciation.

The in-person ceremony for this year was canceled due to COVID-19 and the ongoing guidelines concerning public gatherings. With that in mind, the student honorees are being announced via social media and the IHSAA website.

“The principles learned through academic success, like those learned from participation in school activities, help develop outstanding young leaders,” said IHSAA executive director Tom Keating.  “The partnership between the IHSAA and the Iowa Farm Bureau, along with the great cooperation of the Governor’s Office has made this prestigious program possible for many years.”

In addition to being recognized as the state’s brightest students, more than 99 percent of the group participates in school activities. More than 60 percent plan to pursue their post-secondary education in Iowa.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: