Hounds’ Davis named Co-Player of the Year in SEC


FORT MADISON – Bloodhound junior Dayton Davis was named co-Player of the Year in the Southeast Conference.

The 6-4 junior guard was 4th in the league in scoring with 326 points, but was first in rebounds with 226, a full 60 ahead of the field. That number was also second best in the state in Class 3A, but his 96 offensive rebounds was best in the state in 3A and 8th best in all classes.

He was also tops in the conference in steals with 59, 4th best in 3A.

He joined Burlington’s Amarion Davis with the honor.

Fort Madison’s Miles Dear was named 2nd team all conference. Juniors Reiburn Turnbull and Tate Johnson both received honorable mention for the 8-12 Hounds.

Lady Hounds

On the girls side, some could make a case that the Bloodhounds Malarie Ross should have been considered for Player of the Year honors. Ross was named to the first team along with senior Brandy Walker.

Ross scored 405 points on the year, which was tops in the Southeast Conference.

Ross was also tops in the conference in steals with 109. She also lead the conference in 3-point percentage, free throws made and free throw percentage.

The junior 120 made free throws was the third best mark in all classes.

Walker was third in the Southeast Conference with 10 blocks and was fifth in field goals with 75.

Keokuk’s Abby Wolter was named the Conference Player of the Year.

Camille Kruse, a first team selection last year was named 2nd-team All conference. Senior Nadia Boeding and freshman Irelynd Sargent earned honorable mention.

Fort Madison’s Henry Wiseman (Fr. 106 lbs), Emmett Kruse (So. 113), Teague Smith (Fr. 152) and Levi Lowney (Sr. 195) were all named 1st team All-Conference.

Gavin Wiseman (Jr. 138), Aiden Pennock (So. 145), Mason Schau (Sr. 160) and Isaac Thacher (Fr. 170) were all named to 2nd team for the 4-0 Hounds.

Keokuk’s Tate O’Shea was named Wrestler of the Year.

Academic All-Conference
Fort Madison Owen Kruse, Brock Califf, Gavin Wiseman, Ace Meierotte, Will Gager, Austin Miller and Schau were named to the wrestling all academic team.
Johnson, Landes Williams, Davis and Philip Goldie were named to the boys academic list, while Ross, Boeding, Kylee Cashman, Lauren King, Maddie Rashid and Walker all earned academic all-conference for the Lady Hounds.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: