Hawks, Crusaders named to SEISC South 1st teams


DONNELLSON – Central Lee’s Alex Sandoval and Dylan Stuecker have been named to the Southeast Iowa Superconference South Division 1st Team All-Conference for the 2021 season. The Hawks’ Halo Arrowood, Shanna Buford, Meghan Hopp and Sophie Turner were all named to the girls 1st team along with Mary Hellige from Holy Trinity Catholic.

Sandoval was named 1st team as an infielder and Stuecker was placed on the team as a utility player.

Sandoval hit .340 on the campaign with two home runs. He also had 18 RBI which tied Tanner DeMoss for tops on the team. The junior had 18 hits and 16 runs scored.

Stuecker hit .382 with 12 RBI in an injury-shortened season. He had a team-high .168 ERA allowing just four earned runs all year, while striking out a club high 25.

Jonny Snider was named to the 2nd team as an infielder. The junior hit a team high .385 with one home run and 10 RBI, and scored 26 runs, also best on the squad.

Tanner DeMoss and Kade Myhre both received honorable mention.

Hellige led the Crusaders in hitting with a .391 batting average and RBIs with 19. Her 25 hits were second best on the team. The sophomore racked up six wins and struck out 78 on the year, while holding a 4.89 ERA, handling the pitching chores for most of the season.

Buford hit .461 for the Hawks and had a couple home runs and 41 hits, all tops on the team. Hopp led the Hawks with 23 RBI and hit .333 on the year. Arrowood hit .304 5th best on the team and had 12 RBI.

Turner had 12 wins on the year and a 2.93 ERA both best for the year for the Hawks.

HTC’s Brooke Mueller, Anna Sobczak, Kayla Box and Haile Cain were all named 2nd team. Makayla Morrison and Abby Simmons were named 2nd team from Central Lee. Mueller, Cain and Morrison were unanimous picks.

The Hawks Macy Watkins and Carlee Pezley and the Crusaders’ Jenna DiPrima and Teagan Snaadt all received honorable mention.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: