Bendlage, Morrison, and Myhre named to SEISC-South 1st team


LEE COUNTY – The coaches of the SEI Superconference South division put three local girls on the first team for the 2021-22 season.

Central Lee junior Makayla Morrison and senior Alivia Myhre were named to the squad, Morrison unanimously, along with Holy Trinity Catholic sophomore Mary Kate Bendlage.

Bendlage was fourth in the conference in total points with 330, behind West Burlington’s Abbey Bence, Burlington Notre Dame’s Megan Harrell and WACO junior Eliah Kissell. All three of those girls were also named to the 1st team squad, along with McKenna Marlow (WB), Makenzie Morris (Danville) and Gabby Deery (BND).

Bendlage shot 44.6% from the field for the Crusaders, who finished the year 11-12 overall and 10-6 in conference play. Bendlage’s 162 rebounds were third best in the loop.

Myhre scored 288 points on the year good enough for sixth in conference play. She shot 44.6% from the field including 35% from the arc going 41 of 117. Morrison scored 213 points in 20 games for the Lady Hawks who tied for second in conference play at 12-4 with West Burlington. Central Lee finished the year 13-9 overall.

Holy Trinity sophomore Natalie Randolph and Central Lee’s Macy Watkins both garnered 2nd team honors. Randolph was seventh in the conference in scoring with 268 points and was 39% from the 3-point arc. Watkins scored 177 points, but was third best in SEISC South shooting 50% from the field.

Receiving honorable mention for Central Lee were Mya Lampe and Maura Watkins. Brooke Mueller and Teagan Snaadt were received honorable mention for HTC.

Jimmy Myers was named Coach of the Year posthumously and Harrell earned Player of the Year honors.

For the boys, HTC’s sophomore Connor Gehling was named 2nd Team all conference.

Gehling was sixth in the conference in scoring with 289 points and shot 54.1% from the field.

Central Lee’s Brayden Wyrick and Alex Sandoval received honorable mention for the Hawks, while Holy Trinity’s Mikey DiPrima and Tyler Snaadt were named honorable mention for HTC.

New London’s Blaise Porter was named Player of the Year and Paul Kissell earned Coach of the Year honors.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: