Central Lee looking for Hall nominees


DONNELLSON, IOWA — The Central Lee Community School District will celebrate the 2020 and 2021 inductees into its Academic, Athletic, and Fine Arts Halls of Fame during a May 14 ceremony.

This will be the first time Central Lee has been able to hold an in-person ceremony due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic over the past couple years.

“We are incredibly excited to honor these outstanding alumni and former staff members who made their mark during their time in our schools and in life beyond graduation,” said Dr. Andy Crozier, Central Lee Superintendent. “After two years of delays, we are very pleased to finally be able to hold an in-person event and honor these individuals in the way they deserve. We look forward to a great event on May 14.”

Inductees to the Academic Hall of Fame for 2020 include Major General Timothy J. Lowenberg (Class of 1964), U.S. Navy Vice Admiral (Ret.) Gerald L. Hoewing (’67), Donald Lloyd Kirchner (’73), Dr. Carrie A. Schinstock (’96) and Amber (Hohl) Conlee (’01). Former staff member inductees are Deanna Lind Reynolds, who coordinated the district’s Gifted and Talented program for 27 years, and Marge Wilhelm, who served as a teacher, principal and superintendent for the district before retiring in 1992. 

Inductees to the Academic Hall of Fame for 2021 include Justin Lightfoot (‘99) and Victor Spohnheimer, a 1933 Donnellson High School graduate who taught for 42 years, including 19 at Central Lee. 

In 2020, the Athletic Hall of Fame welcomed Judith (Hodson) Finney (‘58), Brian Wells (‘89), Angie (Schinstock) Fransk (‘00) and Brad Vogel (‘10). Larry Avery, who served as varsity baseball coach and in numerous other capacities at Central Lee for 30 years, was also inducted in 2020. 

For 2021, the Athletic Hall of Fame inductees were Sara Newton (Weirather) (‘03), the 1966 state champion Central Lee girls’ cross-country team and George F. Allen, who served as a teacher, athletic director and coach of multiple sports at Central Lee for 45 years.

The Fine Arts Hall of Fame class of 2020 included Patrick G. Downing, Blythe E. (Philp) Filar, Flint Hawes and William Elliott Whitmore. Also inducted was Craig A. Wilkins, who served as band and choir director at Central Lee High School from 1989 to 1995.

In 2021, the Fine Arts Hall of Fame welcomed alumnus Eliza Bangert (‘01) and Daryl Coffin, who served as a music teacher at Central Lee from 1990 to 2010. 

The induction ceremony will take place at 10 a.m. on Saturday, May 14, at Central Lee High School. The event is open to the public. 

For individuals to qualify for a nomination to one of the three Halls of Fame, they must have graduated from Central Lee schools or have been a staff member. They also must be at least five years removed from their time in the district. The nomination form is available at https://bit.ly/CLHOFNomination

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: