Rehm named 4A SE District Coach of the Year

Whaley, Kruse, Hopp named to IAGCA district and state teams.


FORT MADISON - The season-ending accolades continue to pour in for area summer sports athletes... and now coaches.

Fort Madison's Jared Rehm was named the Iowa Girls Coaches Association 4A Southeast District Coach of the Year after leading the Bloodhounds to their first Southeast Conference title in more than 12 years.

Rehm led the girls to a 23-13 record overall and a sparkling 18-2 mark in loop play. FMHS was eliminated by Burlington in regional play as the Grayhounds advanced to the state tournament.

"I'm honored with the SE Coach of the Year award, but never gave it much thought prior to receiving it," Rehm said. "When I received the email I was pleasantly surprised to receive such an award, which I wouldn't be able to do alone without the coaching staff that have and our dedicated players."

Also making the 4A Southeast squad were sophomore Lexi Whaley and junior Erika Kruse. Kruse led the Southeast with 12 homers and 50 RBI. She and Whaley both hit over .400 on the year.

Whaley was named 2nd team all-state by the IAGCA and Kruse made 3rd team. Fairfield's Coty Engle and Hannah Simpson were both named to the first team all-state in 4A.

Central Lee's Meghan Hopp earned all-district honors in 3A and was placed on the 2nd team all-state. Davis County's Madeline Barker and West Burlington's Lauren Summers were named 1st-team all-state.

Fort Madison's Logan Johnson was placed on the All-Academic All-State team for the Bloodhounds.

Holy Trinity's Alesha Hellman earned one of the 2022 IAGCA's E. Wayne Cooley "YOU CAN" awards for her contribution and leadership to the Crusaders record-setting wins season.

softball, girls, high school, Class 4A, Class 3A, Meghan Hopp, Lexi Whaley, Erika Kruse, Alesha Hellman, honors, all-state, all-district, southeast, Pen city Current, sports,


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here