Ferrill takes conference title at No. 4 singles

Larissa Ferrill returns a volley in her championship match on Monday at the Holy Trinity courts. Ferrill one the match 8-6 to win the Conference title at No. 4 singles. PCC photo by Chuck Vandenberg



FORT MADISON – Larissa Ferrill captured the Southeast Conference championship at No. 4 singles as part of the Southeast Conference girls tennis tournament held in Fort Madison.

Kearstyn Johnson took runner-up at No. 2 singles and Katie Larson took 3rd place at No. 1 singles. Hope Gray took 3rd place at No. 2 singles and Carissa Smith took 3rd place at No. 6 singles. Mercedee Doty claimed 4th place at No. 5 singles.

Larson and Gray took 3rd place in No. 1 doubles play, Doty and Smith took 2nd at No. 3 doubles after an injury default, and Johnson and Ferrill took 4th at No. 2 doubles.

Ferrill started her day Monday morning with a win over Hermela Gebremarium of Fairfield, 8-1 and then downed Keokuk’s Allie Brookhart 8-6 for the title. The sets were played first-to-8 by two.

At No. 2 singles, Johnson started the day with a win over No. 1 seeded Thuann Tran of Mt. Pleasant 8-6. Johnson went into the tourney seeded 4th. But then fell 8-4 to second-seeded Dayna Price of Fairfield to claim the runner-up.

Larson entered the tourney as the third-seed in No. 1 singles and was knocked off by second-seeded Jakala Hall of Keokuk 8-3. But came back to down fourth-seeded Megan Sutherland of Mt. Pleasant 8-1. 2017 state runner-up Anatta Charoenkul claimed the conference title.

Gray came in as the top-seed at No. 3 singles, but dropped an 8-3 contest to Fairfield’s Cami Schaeffer, before knocking off second-seeded Quin Whaley 8-3 for third place. Schaeffer won the conference title.

At No. 6 singles, second-seeded Smith fell to third-seeded Ashley Pool of Fairfield 4-8, before coming back to down fourth-seeded Madd Miller of Keokuk 8-1 for third place. Pool went on to win the conference crown.

Doty gave top-seeded Anna Beasley of Fairfield all she wanted before falling in a tiebreak 8-9 (7-5). Doty then fell to Erin Zihlman 2-8 in the consolation bracket for 4th place.

Fairfield won the meet with 19 points, followed by Keokuk with 15, Fort Madison with 11, and Mt. Pleasant with 9.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: