New track record set in Donnellson


DONNELLSON - Sprint car driver Garet Williamson set a track record quick qualifying time of a 13.096 second lap on Friday night, May 17 at the Lee County Speedway in Donnellson.  Williamson hails out of Columbia, Missouri.
The fans were entertained with the POWRi 410 winged sprint cars, Sport Mods, Stock Cars, and Hobby Stocks.
POWRi was created in 2022 as part of the Outlaw Series, an open-wheel sprint car class that competes at dirt track events across the US, featuring a V8 engine with a displacement of 410 cubic inches producing +900 hp.
Of the 27 talented sprint car entrants, it would be Aaron Reutzel from Knoxville, Iowa picking up the 30-lap feature win for a payday of $5000.
Commencing the main event was high-point qualifier pole setter Reutzel with Blake Hahn on his outside while Chase Randall, Austin McCarl, and Garet Williamson in tow rounding out the top five.
Burlington’s Scott Bonar is a team owner for the #50 sprint car driver Paul Nienhiser of Chapin, Illinois. 
Nienhiser started ninth and was up to second until Austin McCarl took over putting Nienhiser in third.  It appeared Nienhiser was going to land a podium finish until his motor started sputtering, running out of fuel toward the final laps of the race. 
Nienhiser commented, “Going into three coming to the checkered, we were completely out of power and got passed by four cars....run like seventh.  I should have pulled it out of gear, I would of coasted faster!”
“They knew we were here,”  Nienhiser was quick to say.   
Winner Reutzel dominated over seven seconds ahead of second place McCarl.  Reutzel positively stated, “Thought it was a good night all around from qualifying to A-Main.  Last time we were here we did the same thing….our car was just really good all night. I think I could have maybe even won from a couple rows back.”
Ft. Madison’s Sport Mod driver Tom Ruble finished ninth place in that feature, while Keokuk driver Jim Gillenwater came in sixth.  Cole Gillenwater, Keokuk, did not finish the race but received 11th place. In heat one, Cole Gillenwater placed second with Ruble placing sixth.  Jim Gillenwater received third in the second heat.
Keokuk’s Nicholas Profeta driving in the Stock Car division placed fourth while Kase Kohlmorgan from Hamilton, Illinois received tenth in the feature event. In heat one, Profeta finished third in the first heat while Kohlmorgan finished fifth in the second heat.
Local Burlington sprint car racers were Cole Mincer, Chase Richards, and his brother McCain Richards. They finished seventh, eighth, and ninth respectively in the B-Feature.
The young Mincer is a high school junior at West Burlington.  He has been at the helm of the 15Jr Mincer machine for two years with his father Bobby Mincer coaching as he was a successful and fierce competitor in sprint car racing for nearly four decades.  Cole has also been a regular on Saturday nights at the famed Knoxville Raceway known as the Sprint Car Capital of the World.

  1.  Reutzel,  2) McCarl,  3)  Williamson,  4) Randall,  5)  Hahn,  6)  Gunner Ramey,  7)  Nienhiser,  8)  Jace Park,  9) Joe B. Miller,  10) Chris Martin,  11) Ayrton Gennetten,  12) Sawyer Phillips,  13)  Xavier Domey,  14) Tim Estenson,  15)  Cameron Martin,  16) Roger Crockett,  17) Tyler Lee,  18)  Noah Gass,  19) Steven Russell,  20) Hunter Schuerenberg, 21) Will Armitage, 22) Tasker Phillips
    B-MAIN WINNER:  Ramey
    HEAT WINNERS:  McCarl, Nienhiser, and Armitage


  1. Shane Paris,  2) Brandon Dale,  3) Logan Cumby,  4) Kyler Girard,  5) Jason Van Zomeren,  6) Jim Gillenwater,  7) Matt Tucker,  8) Reid Sammons,  9) Tom Ruble
    HEAT WINNERS:  Paris and Dale
  1. Dustin Vis,  2) Dustin Griffiths,  3) Derrick Agee,  4) Nicholas Profeta,  5) Bronson Spaw,  6) Jon Irwin,  7) Pete Stodgel,  8) Jerry Jansen,  9) Kevin Koontz,  10) Kase Kohlmorgan

HEAT WINNERS:  Vis and Griffiths
1) Dustin Griffiths,  2) James Pilkington,  3) Jeremy Dooley

Donnellson, races, Lee County, speedway, results, Saturday, Joyce Hetrick, racecars, stock cars, sport modifieds, sprints, sports, Pen City Current


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here