SEIRPC gives Ritson its LeRoy Meyer award

Burlington banker earns honor for facilitating growth


BURLINGTON - At the Southeast Iowa Regional Planning Commission (SEIRPC) Full Board Meeting held on Thursday, January 25th, the LeRoy Meyer Award was presented to Robert Ritson of Burlington, IA. Ritson managed several large client relationships as Senior Vice President of Lending at Two Rivers Bank and Trust, f/k/a Burlington Bank and Trust. He has served on numerous non-profit organizations which aim to improve the quality of life for individuals in Southeast Iowa. He served as Chairman of the Burlington/West Burlington Chamber of Commerce and has been active in several Chamber committees. Ritson served on the Board of the Burlington Homeless Shelter for many years. He was one of the charter members of the Southeast Iowa Revolving Loan Fund and served as Chair for 20 years providing leadership for the committee members as well as SEIRPC staff to make quality and complete loan recommendations to the SEIRPC board. In addition, he has volunteered at Great River Health System’s Hospice House. Ritson has stayed active in numerous nonprofit organizations since his retirement including: the City of Hope Foundation, Burlington/West Burlington Area United Way, and has been a longtime Rotary member assisting on their community service projects. Rob’s volunteerism is exemplary and inspirational. Jim Olson said, “His focus and motivation has simply been to offer assistance and leadership, when needed, to help make Southeast Iowa a better place and make a difference in the life’s of others, especially those who are in need of assistance.”
The LeRoy Meyer Award is presented each year in memory of LeRoy Meyer of Wayland, IA. The award recognizes outstanding volunteer community development contributions by a non-elected individual to citizens of his/her community, county, and the greater area of Southeast Iowa. LeRoy Meyer was a longtime member of SEIRPC, and supporter of economic development within both the Henry County and Wayland areas.
Recipients from the past five years are: The late Brian E. Roth, Volunteers Involved with the Restoration of the Keokuk Union Depot, Mallory Smith, Dick Keith, and the late Allen Schillie.
SEIRPC is one of 17 councils of governments (COGs) in Iowa and recognized in Chapter 28H of Iowa Code. SEIRPC is a local government member-supported entity and serves Des Moines, Henry, Lee, and Louisa counties and provides planning, grant writing, technical services and program management for the region. SEIRPC is governed by a 19-member board of directors and manages SEIBUS, Great River Housing Trust Fund, Mediapolis Housing Trust Fund, Southeast Iowa Housing, Inc., Southeast Iowa Regional and Economic Port Authority, Region 16 Regional Planning Affiliate, Southeast Iowa Economic Development District.

Southeast Iowa Regional Planning Commission, Mike Norris, Fort Madison, Burlington, Des Moines County, Lee County, Pen City Current,


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here