ISU recognizes Lee County’s extension 100 years


DONNELLSON – Bob Dodds, Assistant Vice President for the County Services unit of Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, presented a citation to the Lee County Extension Council during the reception celebrating Lee County’s 100 years of Extension services.  The citation reads, “We recognize and honor the commitment of the Lee County Agricultural Extension District and Iowa State University Extension and Outreach in this continuing partnership.”

This long-established partnership with Iowa State University provides local citizens with access to education and university research.  ISU Extension and Outreach provides education and builds partnerships for a strong Iowa and a strong Lee County.

Bob Dodds, center presents Tina Loges and the Lee County Extension Council including from left Tricia Knipper, Rick Tebbs, Chris Lindner, Steve Newberry, Vicki Kokjohn, Dave Lowenberg, Tom Mohrfeld, and Brad Vandenberg and plaque recognizing the county’s 100 year partnership with the Iowa State Extension Office. Courtesy photo

What is going on in ISU Extension and Outreach?

Our faculty and staff are leading critical issues at the state and national levels, including water quality and community revitalization.

We collaborate with communities to support local food systems, including urban farms, food hubs, and public market feasibility studies.

Our education, research, and job training support Iowa’s $420 million grape and wine industry.

We provide skills training for community leaders, local government officials, business owners, entrepreneurs, and volunteers to help sustain Iowa communities for the future.

We help farmers connect through peer networks, increasing the success of farm businesses.

We teach foodservice workers how to handle food safely, so Iowans do not get sick.

The Lee County Extension Council represents county residents and acts on behalf of ISU Extension and Outreach locally. The Lee County Extension Council includes Chairperson Chris Lindner of Keokuk, Vice Chairperson Vicki Kokjohn of West Point, Treasurer Rick Tebbs of Fort Madison, Secretary Tricia Knipper of Donnellson, Tina Loges of Farmington, Tom Mohrfeld of West Point, Steve Newberry of Argyle, Dave Lowenberg of West Point, and Brad Vandenberg of Donnellson.

For more information about ISU Extension and Outreach contact the Lee County office at 319-835-5116, or visit

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply