Califf, Poe named to IPSWA/IFCA All-State football teams


FORT MADISON – Fort Madison continues to see recognition for the efforts of the burgeoning Bloodhound football program.

On Tuesday, Seniors Brock Califf and Keaton Poe were named to the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association/Iowa Football Coaches Assocation, All-State squads for Class 3A.

The Bloodhounds finished the year 7-2 after a second round Pod lost to Grinnell in this year’s revamped State football playoff system.

Califf is the first Bloodhound to be named 1st team all state in almost two decades. Current assistant coach and offensive coordinator Justin Menke was named to the squad in 2001 as an end.

Califf was named to the 1st team as a return specialist. Poe was named 3rd team all state as a linebacker.

Califf lead the state in 3A with three kick off returns for touchdowns. The senior utility player and defensive back was also fourth in the state in total kick return yards with 441; fifth in the state in punt return yards – 166, and sixth in kick return yards per attempt at 36.1. He also tied the state’s highest punt return yardage average of those with 10 or more returns.

Poe had 61.5 tackles in 2020 which was tied for 18th best in Class 3A. He also racked up 37 solo tackles, four sacks and seven tackles for loss.

Other District 5 players to receive mention were Washington senior Trashaun Willis who was named first team at a utility player, and Mt. Pleasant senior Henry Lutovsky 1st team offensive line.

Keokuk’s Callum Tackes was named 2nd team all state as a defensive lineman.

Washington sophomore Max Wheaton joined Poe on the 3rd team along with Washington senior Zayne Laws and Mt. Pleasant senior Chase Williamson.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: