Bloodhounds land three on 1st team

Johnson, Jason Thurman and Kane Williams all get top nods in Southeast play


FORT MADISON – The Fort Madison Bloodhounds placed three players on the Southeast Conference 1st Team all-conference.

Kane Williams, Tate Johnson and Jason Thurman were all named to the 1st team for the Hounds who finished the year 25-9 and ended the year with a substate semifinal loss to Central DeWitt on Monday night.

Williams, just a sophomore, had six wins on the year, second on the team behind Garrett Hannum’s eight and held opponents to just a .250 batting average. He had nine appearances and led the team with 47 innings pitched, while striking out 28. Williams rotated between mound work and catching. He led the team throwing out 10 attempted steals.

Johnson was second in the Southeast Conference with 38 RBI and second in stolen bases with 16. His 38 hits were fifth best in conference play. Jason Thurman led the loop with 45. Johnson was tops in the league in triples with seven and second in doubles with 11.

Thurman was also second best in the conference with a .433 batting average. He scored 42 runs with 10 doubles and three triples, with an on base percentage of .556 while striking out just five times on the years. On the mound, he appeared in 18 of the Hounds 34 games for 41 innings of work giving up just four walks, a league best, and striking out 34.

Landes Williams, Vasin Thurman and Hannum were named 2nd team All-Conference. Williams led the conference in stolen bases with 18 and total runs at 43. Thurman had a league best three runs allowed all three earned, which was also best in the conference. He sported the second best earned run average in the league at 1.31.

Hannum led the conference with his eight wins and nine starts. He also played an error free season along with Johnson and Vasin Thurman.

Reiburn Turnbull and Colton Engeman each received honorable mention.

Burlington’s Brock Dengler was named conference Player of the Year.

Johnson, Vasin and Jason Thurman and Landes Williams all were named Academic All-Conference.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: