Five area girls named to conference 1st teams



FORT MADISON - A host of girls from the north Lee County area have been named 1st team All-conference for the 2020 volleyball season.

Central Lee's Mya Merschman and Abby Wellman, and Holy Trinity Catholic's Claire Pothitakis and Maria Rauenbuehler were named to the First Team South Division of the Southeast Iowa Superconference, according to a release Wednesday.

Fort Madison's Lauren Bailey was also named 1st team of the Southeast Conference in lists released Thursday. All five of the girls are seniors

Merschman led the (22-8) Lady Hawks' hitters with 306 kills on the year. Wellman was named to the team as a utility player with 161 kills and a team high 315 digs.


Pothitakis was 10th in Class 1A among hitters with 311 kills and was fourth in attacking with 865. Rauenbuehler was 5th in Class 1A with 391 digs and made the team as a defensive specialist.

Bailey has been an assist specialist for the Bloodhounds for four years and finished the year with 427, 17th best in the state in Class 4A. Bailey also had 279 digs, second on the squad and had a team high 39 aces to go with 95.8% serving accuracy.

Fort Madison's Nadia Boeding and Reyna Lampe were named 2nd team All-Conference. Madison Pirri and Kailyn Guzman received honorable mention.

Burlington's Madison Bunton and Mt. Pleasant's Karsyn Lamm were named Players of the Year in the Southeast Conference.

In the Southeast Iowa Superconference, HTC's Brooke Mueller and Kassi Randolph were named to the 2nd Team, along with Central Lee's Meghan Hopp, Macy Watkins and Zoe Eschman.

Honorable mention went to the Hawks' Makayla Morrison and Alix Congdon, and Holy Trinity's Taylor Crabtree and Bailey Hellweg.

West Burlington's Sydney Marlow was named Player of the Year. The Falcons' Tom Ferguson was named Coach of the Year.

Receiving Academic All-Conference honors were Fort Madison's Madelyn Swigart, Kendall Beebe, Allison Helmick, Lauren King, Hattie Schrepfer, Taylor Barnes, Olivia Shields, Kylee Cashman, Logan Johnson, Palan Soice, Lampe, Boeding, Bailey, Guzman, and Pirri.

All Conference, girls, Pen City Current, Southeast Conference, Southeast Iowa Superconference, sports, varsity, volleyball


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here