Merschman, Davis, Thurman and Ross get all-state nods


LEE COUNTY – Four local basketball players have been named to All-State post-season basketball teams.

Central Lee senior Mya Merschman was named to the Class 3A 1st team by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association. Merschman led the Hawks to a 13-9 record and was second in the state in scoring with 607 points.

Merschman trailed Van Buren County’s Isabel Manning who was named to the 1st team in Class 2A. She led the state with 665 points.

Fort Madison’s Dayton Davis was named to the 1st team in Class 3A Substate 5. Davis led the Southeast in rebounds with 226 and was 4th in scoring with 326 points on the year and 16.3 points per game.

Holy Trinity Catholic senior Vasin Thurman was named to the 1st team of Substate 4 in Class 1A. Thurman was third in the Southeast Iowa Superconference in scoring with 396 points. Thurman was also tops in the conference in rebounding with 223 points.

Fort Madison’s Mallory Ross was named 3rd team All State in Class 4A by the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association. Ross averaged just over 20 points per game for the 17-3 Bloodhounds who were upset in by Fairfield in the regional semifinals.

Merschman was also named to the 1st team by IPSWA.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: